Minutes of the AGM of the Old Blundellian Club held in the Colin Beale Centre on Saturday 30th September at 12.15pm

Attendees

Richard Swarbrick (RJS), Nick Soul (NS), Jonny Ison (JI), Katharine Sendell (KS), Jessica Mannix (JM), David d'Arcy Hughes (DDH), Tom Cowle (TC), Bart Wielenga (BW), Jenny Scott (JS) and Alexandra Steel (AS). Ylva Von Blanquet and Ben Cornford DNA

Apologies

Paul Waterworth, Martyn Grose, Ben Boswell, Charles Abram, Christian Brook, Bart Wielenga and Nick Swarbrick

Minutes of the AGM of 18th June 2022

The Minutes were approved and signed by the Chair.

Matters arising from the minutes not covered in the agenda

There were none.

Chair's Report.

In addition to the Chair noting activities, work and the role of the Committee and Club (see Chairman's Report), the Chairman wished to formally wish Ben Boswell well with his new position, acknowledging that the OB Committee and Club will miss him greatly and will be formally writing to him. The Chairman noted that the new Chair and the Committee looked forward to continuing the close and productive working relationship with whoever might succeed Ben. The Chariman also wished to formally thank Thurlestone Hotel and the Grose family (particularly Mattthew) for their ongoing support to the Club and particularly for OB Day and the wine – the later aspect meaning the success and conviviality of the day can be assured each year.

The full Report can be viewed on the <u>Meeting page</u> of the OB Club website, noting that this report is as it was written to be delivered on OB Day (and reflecting the sensitivity of the range of issues that followed the events of June 2023).

Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer spoke to his Report, with the full report on the <u>Meeting page</u> of the OB Club website. It was noted that the Emergency Fund now stands at £17,000, the accumulation of an annual allocation of £1,000. Reserves brought forward are £62,906 owed to the OB Club by the School and the Bursary have acknowledged and agreed this figure and a process of spending – much of which will be used to enable the considerable modernisation of the Beale Centre (controlled and with oversight from the joint OBC/School Beale Centre Management Committee).

The report was proposed for approval by Tom Cowle and seconded by Nick Soul.

Re-election of Committee Members

Katharine Sendell was nominated as Chair, proposed by Nick Soul and seconded by Tom Cowle. Re-election of Paul Waterworth (currently President), proposed by Nick Soul and seconded by Jonny Ison.

Re-election of Richard Swarbrick (standing down as Chairman), proposed by Katharine Sendell and seconded by Jonny Ison.

Election of Alexandra Steel and Jenny Scot - they were unanimously proposed and seconded.

AOB

NS gave a brief on the changes of the <u>OB Club Rules</u>. Alongside improving the language and related inclusivity and modernising delivery details, the primary change was to include terms of reference for officers of the committee and any necessary standing or task and finish sub-committees set up to need emerging needs.

The Chair thanked all those who contributed of their own time to the Strategy development work and for their ongoing time and commitment to the Committee and Club.

The Rules were proposed for approval by Tom Cowle and seconded by Jonny Ison.

The President (Paul Waterworth) specifically wished to formally thank the outgoing Chairman for his outstanding contribution and did so by submitting a 'missive' which was read out to the committee by Jonny Ison. JI wished to thank him on behalf of the whole Club. The Secretary also wished to formally thank the outgoing Chairman for his support and friendship during his tenure.

The meeting formally closed at 1pm and the outgoing Chairman thanked all those who attended.